Diploma of Government
(Workplace Inspection)

Am I Eligible?

human resources icon

Are you interested in earning the PSP50122 Diploma of Government (Workplace Inspection) through Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL)? You may be eligible to receive this qualification based on the work you’ve already done. And, you could do it without having to complete any additional study.

Our Skills Recognition Advisors can conduct a free preliminary assessment to confirm your eligibility.

Find out if you are eligible for this qualification

1300 793 002 Apply here

About the Qualification

Diploma of Government (Workplace Inspection)

The Diploma of Government (Workplace Inspection) is a specialty version of the Diploma of Government available to complete by Recognition of Prior Learning. It examines a spread of skills and knowledge applicable to human resources. This Diploma of Government (Workplace Inspection) is relevant to public servants in roles from Commonwealth, State and Local governments.

For a successful RPL application in Diploma of Government (Workplace Inspection) your workplace inspection experience needs to cover these practical situations:

  • Assisted in implementing and monitoring an organisation’s work health and safety (WHS) policies, procedures, and programs.
  • Identified work health and safety (WHS) issues, assess workplaces for compliance alongside providing advice on control measures following reporting principles on compliance activities.
  • Facilitated development, implementation and reviewed effectiveness of strategies related to work, health, and safety (WHS) legislation.
  • Conducted investigations of possible breaches of work health and safety (WHS) legislation.
  • Provided written and verbal advice about legislative duties, rights and obligations of individuals and parties prescribed in WHS legislation.
  •  Involvement in establishing, planning, implementing, and reviewing risk management procedures.

After a review was completed in 2022 of all Australia’s Public Sector Package qualifications, the latest and current version of this qualification can be recognised by the code PSP50122.

The earlier qualification was PSP50116 Diploma of Government. Whilst the spirit of the earlier qualification aligned with the latest version, there have been some changes made to ensure that when you graduate with PSP50122 Diploma of Government (Workplace Inspection), you are acknowledged for possessing the range of skills and knowledge that modern workplaces demand for workplace inspections.

When we begin to examine the opportunities for public service employment it makes sense that the Diploma of Government (Workplace Inspection) has become a more widely recognised qualification.

As a significant and competitive employment opportunity, if you are an experienced public servant it is wise to capitalise on your experience to obtain the PSP50122 Diploma of Government (Workplace Inspection) through Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL).

Find out if you are eligible for this qualification

1300 793 002 Apply here


Qualification Information

There are no entry requirements for the Diploma of Government (Workplace Inspection).

A total of 11 units of competency must be completed in Diploma of Government (Workplace Inspection). The units of competency required are:

5 core units; plus
6 elective units, consisting of:

  • 1 unit from Group A
  • 4 units from Group B to E
  • 1 unit from Groups B to E

To award the Workplace Inspection specialisation, 4 Group C electives must be selected.

Core units are mandatory for every student completing the Diploma of Government, regardless of specialisation. When you look at the core units you can see that these key competencies are valued in government sector functions across the country:

  • Writing complex and unique documents
  • Promoting and upholding the values and ethos of public service
  • Utilising workplace communication strategies
  • Upholding and supporting inclusive workplace practices
  • Promoting compliance in accordance with legislation affecting the public sector

Once the core units have been addressed, the 6 elective units balance specialist public sector skills and transferable skills.

For example, a specialist government sector skill can be the ability to evaluate and report on workplace legislative compliance requirements.

For example, a transferable skill that is valued outside of the public service is your ability to coordinate resource allocation and usage.

Find out if you are eligible for this qualification

1300 793 002 Apply here

About the Qualification

PSP50122 Diploma of Government (Workplace Inspection)

Ranked at the Diploma level, for this qualification you will typically be competent working in an independent, self-directed capacity in the public sector. The Diploma of Government (Workplace Inspection) does not necessarily require that your role is in a management stream, but you may have had supervisory responsibilities.

More details, fees and the Recognition of Prior Learning Process

Fees & Payment

RPL Process

Nationally Recognised Qualifications


View all Qualifications



Apply for a Complimentary
RPL Assessment

What am I eligible forApply now