Certificate IV in Business (Cyber Security)

Am I Eligible?

briefcase icon

Are you interested in earning the BSB40120 Certificate IV in Business (Cyber Security) through Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL)? You may be eligible to receive this qualification based on the work you’ve already done. And, you could do it without having to complete any additional study.

Our Skills Recognition Advisors can conduct a free preliminary assessment to confirm your eligibility.

Find out if you are eligible for this qualification

1300 793 002 Apply here

About the Qualification

What is the Certificate IV in Business (Cyber Security)?

The Certificate IV in Business (Cyber Security) is a specialty version of the Certificate IV in Business available to complete by Recognition of Prior Learning.

Certificate IV in Business (Cyber Security) recognises that technology and data are integral in organisations across the globe. Cyber security in business relates to the ability to protect our data and safely manage our technology.

You could be working across a wide range of industries and sectors as technology is now embedded in organisations small to large. So, your work responsibilities may be solely dedicated to cyber security or you may be working with other technical experts to contribute to the cyber security of your workplace.

For a successful RPL application in Certificate IV in Business (Cyber Security), your cyber security experience needs to cover these practical situations:

  • Maintained the security of two different electronic devices over the life of a small project or work cycle through using best practice protection strategies; for example, you may show evidence of your password management, using a virtual private network (VPN) or ensuring anti-virus software is used.
  • Ensuring software is updated and a register of devices maintained and checked for cyber security arrangements.
  • Involved in at least 2 cyber security incidents at work. For example, you may have assisted in responding to an incident where a compromising email has been sent through to a team member and examining the response, including a post-breach review.
  • Identifying at least 3 real or potential cyber security threats to consider at your work and how you could minimise the risk.
  • For example, you may have revisited password policies, malware attacks (such as through emailed files) or ransomware (where hackers encrypt your data and demand payment to unlock it).
  • Developed at least 1 policy for your workplace to promote cyber safety and arranged at least 2 training / updates to share with colleagues on cyber safety.

Your cyber security experience can help you achieve the Certificate IV in Business (Cyber Security) through Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL).


Qualification Information

A total of 12 units of competency must be completed in Certificate IV in Business (Cyber Security). The units of competency required are:

  • 6 core units; plus
  • 6 elective units.

The 6 core units are mandatory for every student completing the qualification. When you look at the core units you can see that these key competencies are valued in workplaces across the country:

  • Critical thinking – the deeper thinking that considers questions, takes in information and analyses work practices. This is the type of thinking that goes further than just doing something because it has always been done that way.
  • Using digital technologies – collaborating through technology has become vital today
  • Building and maintaining business relationships
  • Keeping workplaces healthy and safe

Use effective communication skills and knowledge to produce complex documents and build communication in the workplace

For specialisation in Cyber Security, Certificate IV in Business (Cyber Security), 4 elective units are required to complete this specialisation.

The elective units focus on risk management strategies that are commonly used in workplaces to protect their technology and data. Your role is to support the cyber security practices in your workplace, assisting in reviews and practical knowledge sharing as well as identifying policy improvements and sharing information with the team to promote cyber security.

Find out if you are eligible for this qualification

1300 793 002 Apply here

More details, fees and the Recognition of Prior Learning Process

Fees & Payment

RPL Process

Nationally Recognised Qualifications



Apply for a Complimentary
RPL Assessment

What am I eligible forApply now