Diploma of Government

PSP50116 Diploma of Government is a qualification that reflects the skills and knowledge it takes to perform effectively as a government employee. It examines a spread of skills and knowledge in operating ethically within legislative requirements and environments. This Diploma of Government is relevant to public servants in roles from Commonwealth, State and Local governments.

When we started Churchill Education back in 2006, it was’t very common to see people obtain the Diploma of Government through Recognition of Prior Learning. In the last 5 years, we have seen a real shift in Departments looking at these qualifications as a minimum benchmark for their teams.

In some teams, holding the Diploma of Government is also linked to mandatory pay increases.

Employment Opportunities for Diploma of Government

When we begin to examine the opportunities for public service employment it makes sense that the Diploma of Government has become a more widely recognised qualification.

According to statistics published in June 2019, there were two million public servant jobs in Australia, and this is forecast to grow.

As a significant and competitive employment opportunity, if you are an experienced public servant it is wise to capitalise on your experience to obtain the PSP50116 Diploma of Government through Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL).

Find out if you are eligible for this qualification by calling us on 1300 793 002, or through the Get Started link above.

Diploma of Government Jobs

Diploma of Government jobs come with a wide variety of titles. With in excess of 2 million public servants in Australia, roles vary across so many sectors. There are some common types of job titles we see when reviewing Recognition of Prior Learning applications for Diploma of Government jobs.

These are examples of Diploma of Government jobs:

  • Administration Officer
  • Administrative Services Manager
  • Fraud Prevention Coordinator
  • Policy Manager or Policy Officer
  • Project Coordinator or Project Officer
  • Procurement and Contracting Manager
  • Injury Management Case Manager
  • Operations Manager
  • Program Coordinator
  • Team Leader
  • Inspector or Investigator
  • Customer Service Manager
  • Procurement Officer
  • Finance Officer
  • Health and Safety Coordinator
  • Contract Administrator

What does the Diploma of Government cover?

Ranked at the Diploma level, for this qualification you will typically be competent working in an independent, self-directed capacity in the public sector. The Diploma of Government does not necessarily require that your role is in a management stream, but you may have had supervisory responsibilities.

The core units focus on the following areas:

  • Promoting values of public service
  • Promoting diversity
  • Using complex communication strategies
  • Promoting legislative compliance

The Diploma of Government covers the skills and knowledge of an experienced public servant in:

  • Working with legislation, policies and compliance
  • Operating in an environment grounded in values and ethics
  • Communication
  • Researching, interpreting and analysing data coming from a range of sources
  • Understanding the value of diversity
  • Project management
  • Supervisory capacity (but not necessarily dedicated management roles)

This the depth of skills and knowledge that are required to support the needs of an evolving community through public services.

The Diploma of Government has a Generalist stream and is also available in three specialisations.

You can be awarded the Diploma of Government which reflects a general breadth of skills and knowledge across your role as a public servant. A generalist approach gives your qualification a broader use that can be useful for transitioning roles. The Diploma of Government is available for a Recognition of Prior Learning assessment with Churchill.

The Diploma of Government also break into three areas of specialisation under the packaging rules for this qualification:

  • Diploma of Government (Workplace Inspection) – For those who have been involved in investigation and enforcement in any of the following areas: workplace relations, work health and safety, workers’ compensation or injury management.
  • Diploma of Government (Injury Management) – For those who have worked as an injury management case manager in the public sector.
  • Diploma of Government (Policy Development) – For those who have experience developing organisational and public policy in the public sector.

As a rule, we offer Recognition of Prior Learning assessments for the Diploma of Government and the Diploma of Government (Workplace Inspection) to individuals.

Are you interested in earning the PSP50116 Diploma of Government
through Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL)?

Have you had experience in:

  • Promoting the values and ethos of public service
  • Promoting diversity
  • Using complex workplace communication strategies
  • Promoting compliance with legislation in the public sector

You may be eligible to receive Diploma of Government based on the work you’ve already done. And, you could do it without having to complete any additional study.

Our Skills Recognition Advisors can conduct a free preliminary assessment to confirm your eligibility.

Find out if you are eligible for this qualification by calling us on 1300 793 002, or through the Get Started link above.

Also consider the PSP40116 Certificate IV in Government

Government Department Partnerships

For Government departments or bodies, we offer a partnership program where your staff may be completing your own training program that has been mapped to the Diploma of Government. We encourage you to talk to us about your options for establishing a partnership program with Churchill Education.

Find out more about Government Department Partnerships for this qualification by calling us on 1300 793 002.

More Information About Qualification,
Fees and The Recognition of Prior Learning Process

Fees & Payment

RPL Process

Nationally Recognised Qualifications


Apply for a Complimentary RPL Assessment

Find Out What You’re Eligible For