Diploma of Government

Am I Eligible?

human resources icon

Are you interested in earning the PSP50122 Diploma of Government through Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL)? You may be eligible to receive this qualification based on the work you’ve already done. And, you could do it without having to complete any additional study.

Our Skills Recognition Advisors can conduct a free preliminary assessment to confirm your eligibility.

Find out if you are eligible for this qualification

1300 793 002 Apply here

About the Qualification

Diploma of Government 

PSP50122 Diploma of Government is a qualification that reflects the skills and knowledge it takes to perform effectively as a government employee. It examines a spread of skills and knowledge in operating ethically within legislative requirements and environments. This Diploma of Government is relevant to public servants in roles from Commonwealth, State and Local governments.

When we started Churchill Education back in 2006, it was’t very common to see people obtain the Diploma of Government through Recognition of Prior Learning. In the last 5 years, we have seen a real shift in Departments looking at these qualifications as a minimum benchmark for their teams.

In some teams, holding the Diploma of Government is also linked to mandatory pay increases.
After a review was completed in 2022 of all Australia’s Public Sector Package qualifications, the latest and current version of this qualification can be recognised by the code PSP50122.


The earlier qualification was PSP50116 Diploma of Government. Whilst the spirit of the earlier qualification aligned with the latest version, there have been some changes made to ensure that when you graduate with PSP50122 Diploma of Government, you are possessing the range of skills and knowledge that modern workplaces demand.

When we begin to examine the opportunities for public service employment it makes sense that the Diploma of Government has become a more widely recognised qualification.

As a significant and competitive employment opportunity, if you are an experienced public servant it is wise to capitalise on your experience to obtain the PSP50122 Diploma of Government through Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL).


Qualification Information

Core units are mandatory for every student completing the Diploma of Government, regardless of specialisation. When you look at the core units you can see that these key competencies are valued in government sector functions across the country:

  • Writing complex and unique documents
  • Promoting and upholding the values and ethos of public service
  • Utilising workplace communication strategies
  • Upholding and supporting inclusive workplace practices
  • Promoting compliance in accordance with legislation affecting the public sector

Once the core units have been addressed, the 6 elective units balance specialist public sector skills and transferable skills.

For example, a specialist government sector skill can be the ability to evaluate and report on workplace legislative compliance requirements.

For example, a transferable skill that is valued outside of the public service is your ability to coordinate resource allocation and usage.

There are no entry requirements for the Diploma of Government.

A total of 11 units of competency must be completed in Diploma of Government. The units of competency required are:
5 core units; plus
6 elective units, consisting of:
• 1 unit from Group A
• 4 units from Group B to E,
• 1 unit from Groups B to E

Any combination of units that meets the packaging rules above can be utilised in awarding the Diploma of Government. Where appropriate, electives can be packaged to provide a qualification with a specialisation; such as the Diploma of Government (Workplace Inspection).

The Diploma of Government is available as a generalist qualification and also as a specialisations.

The generalist qualification reflects work in small or regional organisations where your responsibilities have been diverse, rather than within a narrow specialisation.

Diploma of Government (Workplace Inspections)

The workplace inspections specialisation is for those who have been responsible for the investigation and enforcement requirements in any of the following areas: workplace relations, work health and safety, workers’ compensation or injury management.

More details, fees and the Recognition of Prior Learning Process

Fees & Payment

RPL Process

Nationally Recognised Qualifications


View all Qualifications



Apply for a Complimentary
RPL Assessment

What am I eligible forApply now