Work Health and Safety qualification icon


Diploma of Work Health and Safety

Are you interested in earning the BSB51319 Diploma of Work Health and Safety through Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL)? Are you in a role of responsibility? You may be eligible to receive this qualification based on the work you’ve already done. And, you could do it without having to complete any additional study.

Have you had experience in:

  • Managing effective WHS participation and consultation processes?
  • Managing WHS risks?
  • Investigating WHS incidents?
  • Developing and implementing WHS management systems?

Find out if you are eligible for this qualification by calling us on 1300 793 002, or through the Get Started button above.

Listen to the Diploma of Work Health and Safety Q&A: 

What is the Diploma of Work Health and Safety About?

To complete the Diploma of Work Health and Safety through Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL), you need to demonstrate that you have the skills and knowledge to manage risks (including identifying hazards), manage legal responsibilities in a WHS context, and investigate and report on health and safety incidents.

The Diploma level is also a proactive contributor to the workplace: not just responding to incidents, but educating and leading initiatives to improve health and safety measures in a workplace. There is a focus on your communication skills, analytical abilities to resolve WHS problems that may be complex and using your best judgement to make decisions. You will have people who report to you on WHS issues and look to you for direction and resolutions.

To be eligible to enrol in the Diploma of Work Health and Safety you need to have the five core units from the Certificate IV in Work Health and Safety. You can have older versions of these units provided they have been deemed equivalent.

Alternatively, if you are applying for a Recognition of Prior Learning assessment, you ask for an RPL first on the core units. Once these units have been assessed and a Statement of Attainment issued (a record of your competency) you can enrol in and be assessed for the Diploma.

Units of Competency

The Diploma of Work Health and Safety has 10 units of competency, five of which are core (or mandatory) units, and five elective units of competency.

The core units address skills and knowledge in these areas:

  • Management across WHS consultations and systematic management of WHS risks
  • WHS incident investigations
  • Contributing to developing, implementing and maintaining systems that manage WHS in the workplace

Examples of Position Titles relevant to Diploma level work:

  • Environmental Health Officer
  • Occupational Health and Safety Adviser, Coordinator or Officer
  • Work Health and Safety advisor
  • WHS Manager
  • WHS Officer
  • WHS Coordinator
  • Advisor, Health & Safety
  • Health & Safety Training Officer / Health Safety & Training Officer
  • Health Safety & Environment (HSE) Advisor
  • HSE Coordinator
  • HSE Superintendent
  • HSE Manager
  • Safety, Health & Wellbeing Advisor
  • Health, Safety, Environment & Training Coordinator
  • Health, Safety, Environment & Quality Manager
  • Health, Safety & Wellbeing Manager
  • Occupational Health & Safety Officer
  • Occupational Health & Safety Project Officer
  • Coordinator, Safety
  • Occupational Hygienist
  • Workplace Rehabilitation Officer

Work Health and Safety Industry

WHS roles within any organisation are of primary importance since work health and safety impacts both the productivity and welfare of every individual. With the WHS industry in Australia forecast to grow 20% by 2020, and with an average annual salary of just over $100,000, it’s definitely full of career opportunities.

Organisations are also becoming increasingly aware of their legislative obligations surrounding duty of care and due diligence. This awareness has resulted in many new and exciting (and lucrative) career opportunities within the WHS sector.

You will find a lot more information in our WHS Industry Report.

More Information About Qualification,
Fees and The Recognition of Prior Learning Process

Fees & Payment

RPL Process

Nationally Recognised Qualifications


Apply for a Complimentary RPL Assessment

Find Out What You’re Eligible For