Certificate IV
in Government (Regulation)

Am I Eligible?

human resources icon

Are you interested in earning the PSP40122 Certificate IV in Government (Regulation) through Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL)? You may be eligible to receive this qualification based on the work you’ve already done. And, you could do it without having to complete any additional study.

Our Skills Recognition Advisors can conduct a free preliminary assessment to confirm your eligibility.

Find out if you are eligible for this qualification

1300 793 002 Apply here

About the Qualification

What is the Certificate IV in Government (Regulation)?

The Certificate IV in Government (Regulation) is a specialty version of the Certificate IV in Government available to complete by Recognition of Prior Learning. It examines a spread of skills and knowledge applicable to regulations, compliance and review. This Certificate IV in Government (Regulation) is relevant to public servants in roles from Commonwealth, State and Local governments.

For a successful RPL application in Certificate IV in Government (Regulation) your regulatory experience needs to cover these practical situations:

  • Ability to exercise delegations, possessing the skills and knowledge required to work independently and perform complex tasks in familiar and unfamiliar contexts.
  • Undertaken routine inspections and monitoring, with responsibility for assigned duties.
  • Application of regulatory powers under the organisation’s enabling and other applicable legislation.
  • Gathered evidence through form of interviews, conducted in accordance with organisational procedures.
  • Handled and validated data received from a variety of sources, which are then acted upon or referred for further action.
  • Management of regulatory compliance, enforcing and promoting conduct within legislative guidelines.

After a review was completed in 2022 of all Australia’s Public Sector Package qualifications, the latest and current version of this qualification can be recognised by the code PSP40122. The earlier qualification was PSP40116 Certificate IV in Government, lacking this regulation specialisation.

Whilst the spirit of the earlier qualification aligned with the latest version, there have been some changes made to ensure that when you graduate with BSB40122 Certificate IV in Government (Regulation), you are acknowledged for possessing the range of skills and knowledge that modern workplaces demand for regulatory experience.

Find out if you are eligible for this qualification

1300 793 002 Apply here


Qualification Information

A total of 15 units of competency must be completed in the Certificate IV in Government (Regulation). The units of competency required are:
4 core units; plus
11 elective units, consisting of:

  • 1 unit from Group A
  •  9 units from Group B to F,
  • 1 unit from Groups B to F, elsewhere in the PSP Training Package, or any other current Training Package, or accredited course.

To award the human resources specialisation, 6 Group E electives must be selected, including PSPGEN113 & PSPREG033.

Core units are mandatory for every student completing the Certificate IV in Government (Regulation). When you look at the core units you can see that these key competencies are valued in government sector functions across the country:

  • Promoting and upholding the values and principles of public service
  • Engaging with relevant stakeholders
  • Applying government processes
  • Working effectively with diversity and inclusion

Once the core units have been addressed, the 11 elective units balance specialist public sector skills and transferable skills.

For example, a specialist government sector skill can be the ability support employee and industrial relations.

For example, a transferable skill that is valued outside of the public service is your ability to compose complex workplace documentation.

Find out if you are eligible for this qualification

1300 793 002 Apply here

About the Qualification

Certificate IV in Government (Regulation)

When we begin to examine the opportunities for public service employment it makes sense that the Certificate IV in Government (Regulation) has become a more widely recognised qualification. According to statistics published in November 2021, there were just over two million public servant jobs in Australia, and this is forecast to grow.

Certificate IV in Government jobs come with a wide variety of titles. With in excess of 2 million public servants in Australia, roles vary across many sectors.

More details, fees and the Recognition of Prior Learning Process

Fees & Payment

RPL Process

Nationally Recognised Qualifications


View all Qualifications



Apply for a Complimentary
RPL Assessment

What am I eligible forApply now